• English Language Proficiency Standards

    According to the Office of English Language Acquisition at the Arizona Department of Education "The [2010] ELP Standards provide prerequisite language skills for English language learners (ELLs) to access academic content. The standards provide the foundational linguistic knowledge for students who are not proficient in English. A strong grammatical foundation is essential in the language acquisition process for ELLs. There is a purposeful overlap of the ELP and the Arizona College and Career Ready Standards language skills. The K-12 English Language Proficiency Standards should be utilized to guide instruction for English language learners. Classroom materials used in ELD instruction reflect content from a variety of academic disciplines including math, social studies, and science."

    The 2010 ELP Standards will continue to be implemented in the 2020-21 school year as the Arizona English Language Learner Assessment (AZELLA) is based upon these standards. 

    ELL I: refers to Kindergarten

    ELL II: refers to grades 1-2

    ELL III: refers to grades 3-5

    ELL IV: refers to grades 6-8

    ELL V: refers to grades 9-12


    In December of 2019, new ELP standards, with greater alignment to grade level English Language Arts standards. Beginning in 2020-21 school year, teachers will begin implementing the new ELP standards. The AZELLA will reflect the changes in standards in 2021-22. For more information please visit the OELAS page on ELP Standards.

    2019 ELP Standards


    Grade 1

    Grades 2-3

    Grades 4-5

    Grades 6-8

    Grades 9-12 

    6th-12th Grade Reading Foundation Skills