• Science

     CLICK HERE TO ACCESS: 

             SchoolCity For Teachers 
             
             School City for Students
     
     Welcome to the DVHS Science Homepage! At Deer Valley we are proud to be in Skyhawk nation and educating our students in multiple science subject areas. We as teachers pride ourselves in molding the young minds of our students and open them up to scientific experiences unlike any other. For example, our biology students can experience an outdoor classroom filled with native Arizona wildlife. Our anatomy students can participate in dissections and get up close and personal with different organ systems. Environmental science students can actually plant different species of plants and then eat their produce! We also offer a variety of dual enrollment courses through Rio Salado college as well as advanced placement courses to help students get ahead in their educational goals.
     
    This page will help guide you in finding your student's individual teacher's websites which will include the following:
        -Syllabus
        -Classroom Calendars/Schedules
        -Contact information
        -Information for logging onto Canvas
     
    Thank you for visiting, 
        Kendra Cornell and Jessica Rushforth
        Science Department Co-Department Chairs
     
     
    For those students needing additional assistance to prepare for the AZ Science AIMS test, please visit our website at http://scienceaimsprep.wikispaces.com.

     

    The current science courses offered are:

    ·          Biology

    ·          Biology Honors

    ·          Earth Science

    ·          Chemistry

    ·          Chemistry Honors (Rio Salado – CHM130 & CHM130LL)

    ·          AP Physics I (Rio Salado – PHY101)

    ·          Environmental Science

    ·          Marine Biology (Rio Salado – BIO145)

    ·          Forensic Science

    ·          Anatomy/Physiology (Rio Salado – BIO160)

    ·          AP Biology

    ·          AP Chemistry (Rio Salado – CHM151, CHM151LL, CHM152, and CHM1152LL)

     
    Department staff:
Name Title Email Phone
Blakeney, Donna Science donna.blakeney@dvusd.org (602) 467-6804
Cornell, Kendra Co-department coordinator kendra.radnich@dvusd.org (602) 467-6786
Everett, Johnna Science johnna.everett@dvusd.org (602)-467-6784
Rushforth, Jessica Co-department coordinator jessica.rushforth@dvusd.org (602) 467-6789
Scott, Diane Science diane.scott@dvusd.org (602) 467-6795
Shah, Dave Science dave.shah@dvusd.org (602) 467-6797
Swerdfeger, Flint Science flint.swerdfeger@dvusd.org (602) 467-6793
Vannoy, Weston Science Weston.Vannoy@dvusd.org (602) 467-6791