Sara Mihaljevich, RN
firstname.lastname@example.org 623-376-3910Please read carefully the following information concerning the nurse’s office. If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact me. As the school nurse, I hope to provide our students with a healthy environment so that they can learn.
NEW As of Aug 31, 2018
Immunization Rules For 11Year Olds
Arizona Department of Health Services has made changes to rules for age requierement for Tdap and Meningococcal Vaccines for school attendance which will affect your students as they turn 11 years old.
Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, attenuated pertussis) will be required for students as they turn 11 years old and older when 5 years have passed since the last tetanus/diphtheria vaccine dose (DTP, DTaP, or Td). Previously, a Td was done 10 years after the initial series completed, but recurrence of pertussis in the teen population over the past years has put children at increased risk for this life-threatening disease. This is required as they turn 11 even if they are not in the 6th grade. MV (meningococcal vaccine) will be required for students who are 11 years old, even if they are not in 6th grade yet. Meningococcal meningitis can be highly contagious in teen and young adults and may result in severe disability if not death. Students entering 6th grade must have documentation of these immunizations prior to the beginning school year each Fall if they are already 11 years old.
As you update your child's immunizations, please get the Tdap and MV administered and documented as soon as possible when your child turns 11 years old. Please get that documentation to my office when completed so that school records can be updated.
The Arizona School/Child Care Immunization Law Reference: Arizona Administrative code: Title 9, Chapter 6, Article 7, Vaccine Preventable Diseases
For School Entry (Preschool, Kindergarten through 12th Grade.)
Vaccine Required Doses Comments
Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis
Age 6 years and under: DTP,DtaP, DT or any combination of DTP, DtaP, DT
5 doses at any age but…
4 doses meet requirements for ages 4-6 if at least one was on or after the 4th birthday.
Polio (OPV and/or IPV)
4 doses at any age but…
3 doses meet requirements for ages 4-6 if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday; 3 doses meet requirements for 7 years and older if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday.
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)
Both must be on or after the 1st birthday
Requirement applies only to children under age five years in childcare/preschool.
Dose #2 1 month after dose #1. Dose #3 due 6 months after dose #1.
Hepatitis A (required for daycare, Pre-school & Head Start)
On or after second birthday.
6 months after 1st dose.
At 12 months of age.
If 1st dose 13 years or older.
1 dose is required
11 Years and Older
If Tdap has not been preciously given, 1 dose of Tdap is required when at least 5 years has passed since the last dose of tetanus containging vaccine.
1 dose of quadrivalent meningoccocal ACWY is required.
A dose adminstered at 10 years of age will meet the requirement.
Maricopa County Free Immunization Clinic:
WEST VALLEY IMM. CLINIC
1850 N. 95th Ave, Suite 184
For further information call 602-506-6767 or TDD: 602-506-6784
First-aid and medical care provided by the school nurse are primarily for illnesses or injuries that occur during the school day, or treatments as directed by your doctor. As school nurse, I do not make a medical diagnosis, prescribe treatment, or administer medication without a written doctor’s order and/or parental consent.
Please do not send your child to school if he/she has fever, deep cough, rash, diarrhea, or has vomited. Children should be free of vomiting, fever (without the use of medication) for 24 hours before returning to school. If your child has been diagnosed with a communicable disease such as strep throat or pink eye, he/she must have been on antibiotic treatment (and free of fever) for 24 hours prior to returning to school. Also, please notify the school office of any diagnosed communicable disease so that other parents can be notified.
Also, it is imperative that you notify me if your child has any chronic conditions such as asthma, diabetes, allergies, heart disease, epilepsy, physical/mental disabilities, or change in status or other known conditions.
MEDICATION AT SCHOOL - ANY MEDICATION MUST BE BROUGHT TO SCHOOL BY AN ADULT. The following written consent must also be given:
State laws and school district policy strictly regulate how any medications are given at school. When it is necessary for the nurse to dispense medication to a student during school hours, the following requirements must be met:
Physician’s Order : Prescription medication must be prescribed by a physician and a written physician’s order must accompany the medication. It must include the name of the medication, dosage, time to be given, and how long to be given (if applicable). It must include the child’s name and current date. When obtaining new prescriptions, many pharmacies will issue a second labeled container for school use if you request it. If the medication is a sample given by the physician, please send a signed note from the physician telling who the medication is for, the date, and instructions for giving the medication.
Signed Parent Consent : There must be written permission from the parent to administer the medication to the child at school. Consent forms are available in the nurse’s office.
Original Container : The medication must be brought to the nurse in the original container. Any medication should be transported to and from the nurse’s office by the parent or an adult designated by the parent. This includes “over the counter” medications, such as Tylenol, cough syrups, antacids, etc. A signed medication consent form is needed for “over the counter” medications. The nurse’s office does not provide any medications. Other than provided by a parent, over-the-counter medications cannot legally be dispensed by anyone except a pharmacist or a physician.
Students are not to carry medications at school—not on their person or in their backpack or lunch box without prior authorization from school nurse.
Medications are not kept in the nurse’s office over the summer. Medications not picked up within one day of the end of the school year will be discarded.
FIELD TRIP MEDICATIONS
If a student needs medication while on a field trip, the medication must be furnished by the parent and given to the teacher prior to departure for the field trip. A signed field trip medication form must accompany the medication. The medication must be provided in the original container with only the number of doses needed for the field trip. Medications such as tablets and capsules cannot come from the school nurse’s supply. The school nurse cannot legally direct anyone other than another nurse to give medications.
PHYSICAL EDUCATION EXCUSES
A written parental excuse is required if your child cannot participate in PE class for a week or less. A written doctor’s excuse is required if your child cannot participate in PE class for over a week.